## NEBRASKA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION NEWS RELEASE

For more information contact Bonnie Sibert at bonnie.sibert@nebraska.gov or 402.471.4818

## NEBRASKA BUSINESS TEACHERS RECOGNIZED WITH BEST AWARD

Fifty-two Nebraska business teachers will be recognized by the Nebraska Department of Education at the Nebraska Career Education Conference to be held June 8, 2016 in Kearney.

Teachers whose professional activities influenced business and marketing education in Nebraska during the past year received BEST — Belong, Excel, Study and Travel — Awards for their involvement in professional associations, community and school activities, professional leadership development and service to the business education profession.

BEST awards exemplify superior qualities, including dedication to students, community outreach and continual classroom improvement efforts. The following individuals contributed significantly to the quality of education in their community and the state:

- 25-year award winner: Cindy Talley, Fillmore Central High School; Dennis Krejci, Tri County High School
- 20-year award winners: Shawna Koger, Arlington High School; Janelle Stansberry, Cedar Bluffs High School
- 10-year award winner: Lorrie Mowry, McCook Community College
- 1<sup>st</sup>-year award winners: Jimi Cole, Mid-Plains Community College; Liz Crabtree, Milford High School; Jennifer Critel, Burwell High School; Melissa Dux, Fairbury High School; Darci Karr, Hastings High School; Amy Wagner, Omaha South High School; Marissa Wallace, Wakefield High School

## Additional award recipients:

Tennille Allison of Kearney High School
Lori Anderson-Stowe of Lincoln East High School
Carol Andringa of Lincoln Public Schools
Janice Arent of Maywood High School
Crystal Bolamperti of Westside Middle School
Brenda Budler of Chadron High School
Angie Chittick of Mid-Plains Community College
Jean Condon of Mid-Plains Community College
Jocelyn Crabtree of Lincoln Northeast High School
Tom Dickey of Omaha South High School
Teresa Feick of Arlington High School
Lisa Fox of Dundy County Stratton High School
Dawn Friedrich of Wausa High School
Lisa Hanson of Neligh-Oakdale High School
DeLayne Havlovic of Omaha Public Schools

Julie Hippen of Lincoln Public Schools Janet Lear of University of Nebraska at Kearney Kyleigh Lewis of, Dorchester High School Kathleen McCune of Mid-Plains Community College Matt Maw of Lincoln Southeast High School Kelly Means of Omaha Central High School Shelly Mowinkel of Milford High School Mickie Mueller of Norfolk Public Schools Cathy Nutt of Mid-Plains Community College Pat Olson of Blair High School Jan Osborn of Sargent Public Schools Peggy Parker of Dundy County Stratton High School Laura Parks of Elkhorn Valley High School Kim Pickering of Lincoln Mickle Middle School Ann Reichle of Mid-Plains Community College Celeste Rogers of Sandhills High School Wanda Samson, Metropolitan Community College-Fremont Kurk Shrader of Elmwood-Murdock Janet Stalder of McCook Community College Debra Stroh of Gibbon High School Lindsay Tillinghast of Lincoln Southeast High School Kari Tunink of Columbus High School Susan Wellman of Syracuse-Avoca-Dunbar High School Jan Went of Columbus Lakeview High School Deb Wolken of Lincoln Northeast High School

B.E. Publishing provides financial support for the BEST pins, certificates and recognition gifts.